Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

I started blocks for a Redwork quilt many, many years ago. I am embarrassed to say how long. Of course, we all have unfinished projects, and this is definitely one of mine. The pattern is children on the beach titled at the seashore by Marytime design.

I chose a variety of white-on-white fabrics for the backgrounds and traced all of the patterns. I began the embroidery and somewhere along the way I got interested in something else and the blocks were put away into a box. I pulled that box out in early Spring and finished a block I had started. Then moved on to another block. I decided to work on finishing the blocks over the summer.

Boy building a sand castle.

I’ve been busy with a variety of other projects, so these blocks are only being embroidered while attending my granddaughter’s softball games and while we are camping. I finished a block in April and another block in May.

Boy on the beach with a starfish.

I moved on to another block in June. I like having something with me to hand stitch while traveling. These blocks have been perfect for day long softball tournaments or sitting by the campfire enjoying the outdoors.

Girl shoveling sand into a pail.

I started a block in July, but only just finished it this weekend while camping. I like using DMC #498 for my Redwork. It is the best for an original turkey red option. I use Sew Fine thread gloss to wax my thread and keep it from tangling. Love it! And my Karen Kay Buckley serrated blade scissors are always in my stitching bag.

Two girls with seashells.

Time to start on another block. Just five more blocks to embroider. Camping season is over, so I’ll have to work on these blocks while attending softball tournaments or soccer games. The season is well underway.

Happy Stitching…

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud