Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

So, we meet again on the pages of my blog.  I said I would be here, so I needed to show up.  I made myself accountable to you all.  Hopefully, you showed up again too.

And, what have I accomplished?  I haven’t been lax, but quilting takes time.  I work a 40-hour per week job, so I have to find time in between everything else to do this craft that gives me such satisfaction.  And, you do to, with whatever you like to make with your hands.

The scalloped-edge binding wasn’t difficult.  I say this as an experienced sewist, but really, if you’ve successfully put a binding on a quilt, stitching a scalloped edge is doable.  Note: I use the word sewist because I like how it sounds, even though Merriam-Webster doesn’t recognize it.checkerboard-edge-treatmentI chose to make the binding single-fold.  For those that don’t know quilting terminology, that just means one layer of fabric wrapped around the edge of the quilt instead of a double layer.  With this small table topper, it seemed to make sense, but ultimately it made for an easier binding.

To make a single-fold binding, fold your strip in half with wrong sides together; press.  Open up the fabric and fold each edge in to meet the center crease and press again.  Fold together on the first fold line and you have the binding.  I like to give it another good pressing to make the folds crisp.  Don’t use a walking foot to attach the binding to the edge of the quilt.  I just used my 1/4″ foot because it was easier to maneuver, and I could see the edge of the quilt.  To stitch, open out binding and lay along front edge of quilt.  Stitch a 1/4″ seam, which will be along the first fold line.  When the binding is attached, turn it to the back and it will fold over the edge perfectly.  I started with a 1-1/4″ strip of bias fabric, choosing to use the border print for non-contrast.

checkerboard-table-topper-corner

The corners were turned just like you traditionally would, while the scalloped points were stitched by pivoting the foot at each turn.  I also clipped into the scallop point, just  through the thread on the initial seam line, before attaching.  Hopefully, my word pictures explain this process well enough that you could give it a try.  I love the finished project.

Image result for check mark symbol– one completed project off my checklist created by my 2017 blog posts.

checkerboard-table-topper-finished

Finished Checkerboard table topper

I also spent most of my Saturday afternoon working on a Craftsy class project.  It’s a basic hand applique class by Mimi Dietrich.  I’ll have to save progress on that project for next time.  Hopefully, you’ll meet up with me again next week and we’ll see what I’ve been up to with all those WIPs in boxes and bins in my sewing room.

Until then…Happy Stitching!

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

