Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

I’ve been stitching together some pillows. Pillows make great small projects for trying out a quilt block, using up scraps, or just the satisfaction of completing a project. I’ve made three pillow projects in the last couple of weeks to give as gifts.

My purple string blocks, back a couple of posts, were made into an 18-inch pillow cover as a wedding gift for my nephew. I like to make the pillows with openings in the back, so that the cover can be removed and cleaned. Here is the finished pillow.

Purple String Pillow

Purple String Pillow

I also made a 16-inch pillow cover from string blocks using woodland fabrics. The fabrics are leftover strips from other projects that I save in small totes. I just sort out colors that fit with my theme and make the string blocks. This pillow top is also for a wedding gift for a co-worker. Unfortunately, I have a habit of finishing gifts at the last-minute and forget to snap pictures of the finished project before gifting. Here is the finished top before adding the back.

Woodland String pillow top

Woodland String pillow top

Over the last two days, I completed a third pillow. This one is a wedding gift for another co-worker. Her favorite color is aqua, which is a limited color in my fabric stash. Being frugal, I decided to use some fabric scraps, adding in a few other shades of blue. I picked up a yard of fabric for the backing at Wal-mart. This time, I didn’t make string blocks. The scraps included several 3-1/2 inch and 5-inch blocks cut up from other projects following the Scraptherapy process for using up your stash by Joan Ford. I also found an online tutorial on how to make a flange pillow edging. Although the tutorial suggested inserting a zipper in the back, I chose to make my usual cover with an opening.

Aqua Flange Pillow

Aqua Flange Pillow

Here is a look at the back.

Flange pillow back

Flange pillow back

As you can see, there is an opening across the entire back of the pillow. The edges have a 1-inch double fold hem and the two pieces overlap each other about seven inches. The pillow form can easily be removed and the pillow top laundered.

It feels great to finish these projects, since they have put other quilt projects on hold. I’ll put these pillows into gift bags with a little tissue paper and get back to piecing a challenge quilt that is due soon.

Enjoy!

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

