Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

My sister and I are on to another baby quilt for her next grandchild. Yes, I know that we haven’t finished the last baby quilt, but that’s okay. I have quilts in various stages all the time. We need to baste and quilt the Dresdan Zoo baby quilt for our great-niece. Certainly, we can begin cutting out the squares for the next baby quilt. I’m sure that many of you do the same thing.

My nephew will be having a child later this summer. My sister is planning a special quilt for her grandchild, but thought that we could work on another quilt from the great-aunts. The pattern is a scrappy bow tie from Quilter’s World Summer 2014 by Chris Malone. The quilt has 64 bow tie blocks measuring 6″ X 6″ finished. We sorted through our stashes and pulled out small scale prints in several colors. No pinks or florals in this baby girl quilt. We chose a lot of dots, stars and mottled prints and each took a stack of fabric to pre-cut the squares for the blocks.

Fabrics for Bow Tie baby quilt

Fabrics for Bow Tie baby quilt

Here are a few of the fabrics cut into the 3-1/2″ and 2″ squares for the bow ties. I seem to have kept the yellows, browns and greens. I also have a stack of purples, reds and oranges yet to cut. My sister is already finished cutting her fabrics, so I need to catch up.

Unfortunately, I have another deadline for a study quilt. I am working on an applique pattern for my AQSG Civil War study quilt that will be presented at Seminar in September. I’ve been working on my idea for over a year, but haven’t put it into fabric until recently. I spent several hours today cutting and basting shapes. The pattern is emerging just as I had planned, so I am pleased with the progress. I hope to make a lot more progress this holiday week-end.

The NQA annual show is happening this week-end in Columbus, Ohio. I am missing out, but just couldn’t work out attending. My SewBatik challenge quilt is hanging in the show, so maybe you’ll see it, if you are able to attend.

Enjoy the holiday!

 

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

