Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

My local guild, Mid-Michigan Quilters’ Guild, had it’s biennial quilt show this weekend. Titled Spring in Michigan, everyone welcomed the opportunity to look at colorful quilts rather than the stark white of the long, cold winter we have experienced. Our raffle quilt brought in $1500 plus in ticket sales, which will help to support community education activities sponsored by our guild. Some of you may remember the raffle quilt that I helped design.

Raffle Quilt with Quilt Show Committee

Raffle Quilt with Quilt Show Committee

I’m on the far right, next to Roberta, who calculated the raffle quilt dimensions and fabric requirements, while I planned the applique border, prepared templates, and determined color placement. Check out some of my favorite quilts from the show.

Hexagon Rainbow-hand quilted

Hexagon Rainbow-hand quilted

Hexagon Rainbow Closeup

Hexagon Rainbow Closeup

 

Hexagons & Diamonds

Hexagons & Diamonds

 

Edyta Sitar Applique

Edyta Sitar Applique

 

 

Baltimore Album

Baltimore Album

 

Baltimore Album closeup

Baltimore Album closeup

Linda's Quilt

Linda’s Quilt

Wool Applique

Wool Applique

Center of Wool Applique

Center of Wool Applique

Upper Corner of Wool Applique

Upper Corner of Wool Applique

Applique Birds by Bea Oglesby

Applique Birds by Bea Oglesby

 

Applique Club project Heart Sampler by Laurene Sinema

Applique Club project Heart Sampler by Laurene Sinema

You’ve probably noticed that I enjoy applique. A couple years ago, I organized an Applique Club within our guild. The above Heart Sampler quilts is the first project the club completed. Applique birds is our second project. One member made every bird in the book and her quilt was juried into the AQS show in Grand Rapids last August. Here are a few more pieced quilts from the guild quilt show.

100_4291

I didn’t write down the pattern name

abby cadabby

abby cadabby

Feathered Star center

Feathered Star center

Hexagons

Hexagons

Rainbow Log Cabin

Rainbow Log Cabin

These next quilts are three that I entered. I just finished each of these in the last month, in time to enter them in the show. The first is a baby quilt that I made for my great-niece Charity, to commemorate her birth. Many will recognize my Riley Blake challenge quilt. The last is a block exchange quilt from several years ago. I exchanged blocks with four other ladies in the guild and had enough blocks for two twin size quilts. This is the first of the two that was finally quilted last year.

Farm Animal baby quilt

Farm Animal baby quilt

Modern Bargello

Modern Bargello

Orange Dotty Quilt

  Orange Dotty Quilt

Hopefully, you enjoyed the virtual quilt show.

Happy Quilting!

Comments on: "Spring in Michigan Guild Quilt Show" (1)

  1. […] finished the farm animal baby quilt for my great niece in time to place it in my guild’s local quilt show. This was a quilt that I began last summer while I was recovering from my rotator cuff surgery. I […]

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

