Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

Here I am again, starting a new project. This is a Block of the Month by the National Quilting Association. My main goal for the year is to finish quilts, but I had to join in on this project. I have been a member of NQA since 2008 and attended four of the five quilts shows. Twice,  I have participated in the SewBatik challenge, and posted about it HERE and HERE. And I am currently planning my challenge project for this year. So, when a BOM for members only was announced for 2014, I wanted to join in on the fun.

The quilt is titled Galaxy. Each month, an NQA certified teacher will present a block tutorial. The pattern calls for assorted white prints and 4-8 different one-yard cuts of blue fabric or your favorite color. I downloaded the January pattern,  Prairie Star, and selected several red fabrics from my stash. Red is my favorite color and I have several one-yard cuts in my stash. I’m trying to use up some older fabrics, most purchased in the 1990’s. Cyndi McChesney designed the Prairie Star block and her instructions are easy to follow and understand. She utilized two different quick piecing techniques that made the block go together quickly. As well, these block sections were sewn larger than needed and trimmed down for more accurate piecing.

So, I stitched up the block today, and here it is.

January BOM - NQA

January BOM – NQA

What did you do today? Hopefully, you had time for some quilting.

Happy Stitching!

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

