Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

Every holiday season, I reassess my progress on quilting projects and determine what I hope to complete in the next year. There are always more projects than I can possibly finish, but it gives me a chance to look at all my UFO’s. This can be overwhelming, since I have more UFO’s than I will ever finish in a lifetime. After 33 years of sewing and quilting, I have acquired quite a few of them.

Since my post in November, I have completed a few projects. I finished a second string block pillow, stitched together six more aprons, machine quilted and bound the Charm Blocks Baby Quilt, and made two pillows. All of these were given as gifts at Christmas. I also hand stitched three more Advent calendar ornaments, but made little progress on any more of it.

Poinsettia

Wool Poinsettia Ornament

Holly

Wool Holly Ornament

Bow

Wool Bow Ornament

But, my focus today is planning for the future. I have two challenge quilts, an Applique club project and a study quilt that have to be finished this year. My sisters and I are working on another collaborative baby quilt for a niece having a baby this month. And, of course, there are six WIPs that I have spent time on throughout 2013 that I really want to finish. As you can see, that doesn’t even count all the UFO’s that sit housed in boxes and tubs and scattered throughout my sewing room.

My older sister & I had a sewing day on Monday. In November, we cut out sections for Dresden plate blocks. The pattern is from Scrap Quilts, a Summer 2012 special publication by Fons & Porter and Easy QuiltsTangerine Zoo, by Brandi Frey, is a colorful quilt using fussy-cut centers with zoo animals. Each of my sisters & I contributed fat quarters of colorful fabrics from our stashes to make the scrappy blocks. The easy piecing made the blocks go together quickly and, working together, we stitched up all nine blocks.

Dresdan plate blocks

Tangerine Zoo Dresden plates

Giraffe block

Giraffe block

What adorable blocks! This is going to be a fun quilt to finish and give away.

I also started working on my MQG Riley Blake challenge quilt. Not showing any pics of that one, but I’ll give you a little hint: I’m using a pattern from Bargello Quilts by Marge Edie for my inspiration.

Without further ado, here is my quilting goal list for 2014, in no particular order:

1) MQG Riley Blake Challenge

2) AQSG Study Quilt

3) NQA SewBatik Challenge

4) Emma’s Birthday quilt – my oldest granddaughter; I’ve planned to make her another quilt by her 5th birthday

5) Finish binding orange Dotty block quilt

6) Alysha’s baby quilt – my niece

7) O’hana wall-hanging – machine quilt

8) Christmas table topper – machine quilt

9) Applique hearts  wall-hanging – finish applique and begin hand quiltign

10) Solids Improv from Gwen Marston retreat – finish hand quilting

11) Advent Calendars – finish wool ornaments and stitch quilts (I’m making a quilt for each of my daughters)

12) Brown/Pink Dotty Block quilt – finish border and send out to longarmer

Finishing this list will be challenging, but only entails one quilt finish per month. And, many of these quilts are already pieced and just need quilted and bound. Handiwork takes longer, but I enjoy applique and hand quilting. Of course, this list does not even touch the UFO tops I’d like to finish piecing. My rotator cuff surgery last March kept me away from the sewing machine for several months. I had planned to finish several UFO’s last year, but that didn’t happen. This year’s list includes some of those UFO’s, plus new projects. I really need to spend my time just finishing current projects, rather than starting any new ones. Maybe this will be the year.

Happy New Year! Happy Quilting!

Comments on: "Quilting Goals for 2014" (3)

  1. […] wool ornaments attached.  You can look back at several blog posts about the wool ornaments, here, here, here, here, and here, that I made throughout 2013 & […]

  2. […] her new baby daughter. You can follow along with the construction of this quilt in earlier posts HERE, HERE and HERE. We chose to add sashing between and around the outside of the blocks. This added […]

  3. […] baby quilt, Touch & Feel Baby Quilt, that we gifted to a nephew last year. We completed the Dresdans last month & got together on Saturday to stitch them to the background blocks. I enjoy hand […]

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

