Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

I am finally making progress on the Advent calendar wool ornaments. I received a package in the mail today that contained #8 perle cotton thread that I ordered online. I needed some additional colors that were not available at my local quilt or craft shops. I had continued to blanket stitch several ornaments, but was unable to finish many of them without the additional thread colors.

Today, I finished four more ornaments: the candy cane, the gingerbread man, the light bulb and the present.

Candy Cane

Wool Candy Cane Ornament

Gingerbread Man

Wool Gingerbread Man Ornament

You may have noticed that the gingerbread men do not match. I didn’t have enough wool in the same tan color, so made them from two pieces.

Wool Light Bulb Ornament

Wool Present Ornament

Thread color is difficult to match, and even more difficult to match when selecting thread from online. The green color does not match the green wools very well, but I decided to use it anyway. As for the brown thread on the gingerbread man, it was not as dark as I had expected. Stitching all those white stripes on the candy cane was time consuming, but came out well.

I prepared several more of the ornaments, as I waited for my thread to arrive. I should be able to finish several more ornaments next week. Monday, I have a sewing day planned with my sisters. I will be cutting out the cotton fabrics to make the feather tree quilt that the ornaments attach to. I actually believe that I have planned well enough to complete this project in time for my grandchildren to enjoy the Advent calendar this season. Hope you are being as successful with your holiday stitching projects.

Happy Stitching!

Comments on: "Progress on Advent Calendar" (1)

  1. […] attached.  You can look back at several blog posts about the wool ornaments, here, here, here, here, and here, that I made throughout 2013 & […]

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

