Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

Baby Quilts

Awhile back, I was planning a baby quilt for my nephew. Since that time, I have completed the top, as well as, the Farm Animal baby quilt for my niece. They went together quickly, but I have not been back to my quilting for several weeks. I had to make valances for a business remodel project, and my weekends have been busy with other activities. Now, it is time to get back to the baby quilts and prepare them for FMQ.

I found a charm packet of fabric from a shop hop that I took with my sister back in about 2004. You know, you go on these shop hops, purchase all sorts of projects and they end up in the back of a storage bin, unused. I came across the charm pack while I was looking for some fabric I knew that I purchased. The nice thing about the charm pack was that I also purchased two yards of coordinating fabric. The fabric was a yellow, flowered Moda print and the cheery colors looked perfect for the baby quilt idea. So, I found some white on white fabrics to use for sashing between the charm squares rows, and stitched the top together. It looks so cute. And, so does the Farm Animal Baby quilt.

Charm Squares Baby Quilt  Farm Animal Quilt with Borders

Now, to get the backing ready, figure out how to quilt the tops, and begin the FMQ. What are you working on?

Happy Stitching!

Comments on: "Baby Quilts" (3)

  1. […] finishing a gift, I often forget to take a picture before wrapping it up.  I recently made another Charm Squares Baby Quilt as a gift to my niece’s son born in October.  I also made a flannel baby blanket with that […]

  2. […] she also did a phenomenal job with the FMQ. The quilt that I made for my great-niece was a simple Charms Squares Baby Quilt (quilt on the left). My sister’s quilt is much more to be treasured, as it should […]

  3. […] I finished the farm animal baby quilt for my great niece in time to place it in my guild’s local quilt show. This was a quilt that I began last summer while I was recovering from my rotator cuff surgery. I couldn’t tolerate too much activity with my shoulder, so I made the applique blocks. I stitched the blocks together in the Fall and had the quilt pinned for quilting before Christmas. I first blogged about this baby quilt project HERE. […]

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

