Musings from the mind of a modern day Sue.

I am having a  creative moment tonight, thinking up ideas for quilts that I need to make for gifts. Not that I don’t already have too many quilt projects on my plate that I need to begin another one. I really should just spend the money on a gift. Right now, though, I’m just thinking about it, so I haven’t committed to anything.

I am in the process of finishing a baby quilt for my niece, but have a nephew that had a baby earlier in the summer that did not receive a quilt gift. I had surgery back in March and was unable to sew for several months. Actually, I haven’t sewn a stitch on my Bernina for more than four months, and I am beginning to get antsy about it. I need to stitch something. So, tonight, I got to thinking about making a simple quilt – a modern quilt – that I could make for him & his wife. I did a quick Google search and came up with two ideas. The first idea is made with charm squares, which I can easily cut from fabrics I have on hand.

Charm Square Baby Quilt by Elizabeth Hartman

Charm Square Baby Quilt by Elizabeth Hartman

I’m also considering the a disappearing nine-patch pattern that is simple enough to make and could be scrappy using any number of fabrics that I already have.

Spring Baby Quilt by Kristy@Bonjour

Spring Baby Quilt by Kristy@Bonjour

I’ll just have to finish that other baby quilt this week-end, so that I can get this one started. As for that other quilt gift idea; that’ll have to wait for another post.

Enjoy!

Thank-you for your comment.

Tag Cloud

